PM Narendra Modi to dedicate historic Kosi Rail Mahasetu to nation on September 18

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will dedicate the historic Kosi Rail Mahasetu (mega-bridge) to the nation through video-conference at 12 noon on September 18. The dedication of the Kosi Rail Mahasetu is a watershed moment in the history of Bihar and the entire region connecting to the North East.

Apart from this, the Prime Minister will also inaugurate 12 rail projects related to passenger facilities for the benefit of the Bihar. These include a new railway bridge on the Kiul River, two new railway lines, five Electrification projects, one Electric Locomotive Shed and third Line Project between Barh-Bakhtiyarpur.

Live TV

In 1887, a meter gauge link was built in between Nirmali and Bhaptiahi (Saraigarh). During the heavy flood and severe Indo-Nepal earthquake in 1934, the rail link was washed away and thereafter due to the meandering nature of river Kosi no attempt was made to restore this Rail link for long period.

The Kosi Mega Bridge line project was sanctioned by the Centre during 2003-04. The Kosi Rail Mahasetu is 1.9 KM long and its construction cost is Rs 516 crore. This bridge is of strategic importance along the India-Nepal border. The project was completed during the COVID-pandemic where the migrant labour also participated in its completion.

The dedication of this project will fulfil the 86-year-old dream and the long wait of the people of the region. Along with the dedication of the Mahasetu, the Prime Minister will also flag off the Saharsa- Asanpur Kupha demo train from the Supaul Station. Once the regular train service begins, this would prove to be highly beneficial to the Supaul, Arariya and Saharsa districts. It would also make it easy for long-distance travel to Kolkata, Delhi and Mumbai for the people of the region.

The Prime Minister will also be inaugurating two New Line projects at Hajipur-Ghoswar-Vaishali and Islampur-Nateshar. PM Modi will also be inaugurating the Karnauti-Bakhtiyarpur link bypass and the third line between Barh-Bakhiyarpur.

He will also inaugurate the Railway Electrification projects of Muzaffarpur–Sitamarhi, Katihar–New Jalpaiguri, Samastipur-Darbhanga-Jaynagar, Samastipur-Khagaria, Bhagalpur-Shivnarayanpur sections.

Source: zeenews

Short URL:
Loading spinner

Leave a Reply